Tech 50 Winners Announced!


Tech 50 Celebrates Pittsburgh’s 50 best tech firms.

The Pittsburgh Technology Council announced the region’s 50 leading technology-oriented companies tonight in eight distinct categories within the 13-county area of southwestern Pennsylvania for 2012. The Council’s 16th annual Tech 50 awards presentation was held at the Wyndham Pittsburgh downtown.

Each year, the Council canvasses the region for the most distinguished public and private technology-oriented companies, and the Tech 50 awards event honors those companies that demonstrated the strongest growth and advancement in product or sales success, financial strength, corporate citizenship, job growth and retention and innovative product or technology. All applicants are subjected to scoring by the Pittsburgh office of Alpern Rosenthal.

For more information on each winner and finalist, check out the special Tech 50 issue of TEQ magazine.

Advanced Manufacturer of the Year

Winner: Calgon Carbon Corporation

These companies manufacture advanced components and products for use in all industries. This category is also for companies employing leading-edge technologies throughout their manufacturing processes.

Category finalists included:
Conspec Controls, Inc.
Industrial Scientific Corporation

Innovator of the Year

Winner: Epiphany Solar Water Systems, LLC

These companies of all sizes are producing ground-breaking products that are redefining their respective industry sectors. The companies can be from any tech cluster/sector and can be pre-revenue or have established sales channels.

Category finalists included:
Aquion Energy, Inc.
Bayer MaterialScience LLC
CombineNet, Inc.
Liquid X Printed Metals
Metis Secure Solutions
nanoGriptech Inc.
PPG Industries, Inc.,  Architectural Coatings
RE2, Inc.

Life Sciences Company of the Year

Winner: ERT, formerly invivodata, inc

Life Sciences category companies improve our health and environment. Candidates deliver medical equipment; pharmaceuticals; health services; and biomedical, agricultural and environmental products and services.

Category finalists include:
Circadiance, LLC
Complexa, Inc.
Foundation Radiology Group
McKesson Automation, Inc.
Net Health Systems, Inc.
Quantum OPS
Rinovum Women’s Health

New Media Company of the Year

Winner: TrueFit

This category is open to any company that develops, designs or deploys apps, web design, branding, media production and/or social media as part of their business.

Category finalists included:
Mizrahi, Inc.
Schell Games LLC
Z Brand Group

Solution Provider of the Year

Winner: Summa Technologies

The finalists in this category focus on the development or integration of technologies that enhance productivity, improve the customer experience and otherwise support the individual goals of their clients. Among other examples of qualified businesses include software developers, integrators and hardware producers/resellers. Companies were  evaluated on revenue growth, job creation and on the impact of their products and services on their clients.

Category finalists included:
AEC Group, Inc.
Computer Aid, Inc.
Data Science Automation, Inc.
Eaton Corporation
Industrial Testing Laboratory Services, LLC
Newton Consulting, LLC
Regulatory & Quality Solutions, LLC
SDLC Partners

Start-Up of the Year

Winner: Branding Brand

Start-Up of the Year candidates are the future of southwestern Pennsylvania. Burgeoning entrepreneurial firms no more than five years old are eligible. Entrants should offer innovative products or unique services and show promise of becoming major economic forces.

Category finalists included:
Allpoint Systems
Para-Coat Technologies, Inc. (Vapor Armor)
Wombat Security Technologies, Inc.

Tech Titan of the Year

Winner: ANSYS, Inc.

This category is designed for companies generating more than $50 million in revenue. These businesses span the fields of manufacturing, life sciences, green technology and information technology but are recognized in their own category as regional leaders in revenue generation.

Category finalists included:
Ansaldo STS USA, Inc.
Concurrent Technologies Corporation
TeleTracking Technologies, Inc.

CEO of the Year

Winner: Scott Pearson, Aquion Energy, Inc.

The CEO of any company within any of the Tech 50 entry categories is eligible for this award.

Finalists for CEO of the Year include:
Audrey Dunning, Summa Technologies
William Lambert, MSA
Justin McElhattan, Industrial Scientific Corporation
Paul Musselman, Carnegie Speech

Sponsors included: Alpern Rosenthal, Catalyst Connection, CGI Technologies and Solutions Inc., Comcast Business Class, Expedient, Morgan Lewis, The Hartford, Highmark, Pittsburgh Life Sciences Greenhouse, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, PNC, Synergy Staffing and Wrecking Crew Media.

Share this post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>